Making your own Spring

I woke up to snow on the first day of spring, for my second chemo. I had recently lost all of my hair, and the changes of beginning chemo had begun to effect not only my physical self, but my emotions as well. I was not going to let this gloomy beginning of spring ruin my already anxious mood. I looked around my house to find something to save the moment. And I was led to this…!

Happy Flowers
Happy Flowers

My daughter used Bright Gerber Daisies for her wedding bouquets in the Dominican Republic, a few months prior, and I had taken them all home in a huge bundle. They were lying in a closet under my stairs just waiting for a new life. So I grabbed the entire bouquet and took them to the cancer center on that snowy day.  You could barely see me as I held the colorful bouquet, getting out of my car. The very first person I saw was the valet, ready to park my car so I didn’t have to walk, feeling weak. I said, “Choose a flower, Happy Spring!” He chose a dark pink, as he laughed getting snowed on. Everyone I saw, as I walked in the cancer center, chose a bright colored flower to cheer them up for the snowy spring day. It changed the mood as flowers were taped to chairs, counters, doors, and even worn. Then when I came into the infusion room I asked if I could decorate every infusion pole with the flowers for Spring. They were thrilled with the site of the bouquet, and so was everyone getting chemo! The bright flowers left the room a colorful display of cheer. It made me  feel so much better as I got hooked up for my own second chemotherapy, which I wasn’t thrilled about.

Look at the pole behind me
Look at the pole behind me

The best part of this story was the sweet valet. He thought the flower was real. And for the entire time I had chemo, radiation, and even an entire year later, this is what I saw, every time I drove up to the valet hut…The site of it continues to make me smile…

Amazing it lived for so long!
Amazing it lived for so long!

 

Celebrate Spring!
Celebrate Spring!

Leave a comment