The Loudest Clapper!

At 11 p.m. the other night my son and his friend spontaneously began jamming in the basement, choosing a violin and a guitar to rock with. The sound was super cool!

I stood near the closed door in the dark hallway of the kitchen and just listened. 

As they finished, I pulled opened the door, and  I clapped while it echoed in the stairwell.

In their surprise they laughed through the wall that separated me from them, then thanked me for being a loyal audience. I called down good-night, and the door made that distinct creek when I closed it while they went back to jamming.

I smiled when I crawled into bed still listening to the rock music two floors below.

It calmed me exactly like a lullaby!

How many spontaneous, off-the-fly moments have I captured just like this one?

So many!

These are my treasures!

Today

my last child of five

graduates from high school.

As I wrote in my journal this morning, I watched from my window, my neighbors walking their five year old boy to the bus stop of his last day of kindergarten. He was running ahead and his daddy had the backpack swung on his shoulder, scurrying to make the bus. With big bushes in my view, I could hear the screech of the bus wheels and then the push of the gas pedal as it drove away.

A flood of memories filled my mind of so many moments with five children on the last day of school.

So many years worth.

So many unplanned, spontaneous moments.

And so many clapping times.

Today when my son’s name is called to pick up his diploma,

I will be his loudest clapper.

I have been all along!

This day is a monumental last for our family

but it will not be my last clapping day.

I can’t wait to crawl in bed smiling, on many occasions to come.

You will change the world, my boy!

And I will always be clapping for you.

Today may be closing a chapter in our lives, but being a mom awards me the gift to always be the loudest, strongest and proudest clapper for all my children for the rest of their lives.

This makes me excited for what is on the horizon ahead!

I would like to share my most favorite poem on this special occasion in honor of this day to my husband and children:

Bits and Pieces

     l

There is

never

one grand

day

on which

you will do 

all the

glorious

things

you have

dreamed of

for a 

lifetime

through!

   ll

But rather

we

grab 

and

snatch,

gathering

happy

moments

like a

patchwork

quilt–

in

bits

and 

pieces:

A laugh

here,

a smile

there,

an embrace

with

kisses

and squeezes;

   lll

A hearty 

laugh

with a

friend,

the picnic

at a 

journey’s

end.

   lV

Happiness

is not

saved

for one

grand

day,

but only

in 

precious

and

unexpected

moments

along

the 

way!

Millie Foster Cheesman
2 thoughts on “The Loudest Clapper!

Leave a Reply

