Why won’t some people talk to me?

Or even touch me

after they find out

I have or had cancer?

Here is an excerpt from the amazing book Now That I have Cancer I am Whole by John Robert McFarland.

“These folks are like the tree monkeys: See no cancer people, touch no cancer people, and especially, talk to no cancer people.”

“However, I think it’s mostly that I’m a walking (slowly, but still walking) reminder that “it” can happen to anyone.”

If I try to talk to them of death, even of pain or fear, they brush it off. “Oh, you are going to be fine,” they say. If I persist, they don’t say anything at all. They are gone as fast as a hamburger in a tiger cage. They cross the street when they see me coming.

I wish they would talk with me. They’re missing something special. So am I.

I wonder whether Jesus felt that way. When he was tried, and found guilty, and nailed to a cross, all his best friends deserted him. Not only did they not want to talk to him or see him, they didn’t even admit they knew him. That must have been very lonely.

So I do for those who won’t talk to me what Jesus did on the cross for those who persecuted him. I pray for them. They won’t talk to me, so I talk about them behind their backs to God. God and I have entered into a conspiracy of love. The more those folks refuse to talk, the more we talk about them. We don’t try to change them. We just love them. I still wish they would talk. It would be good for them. For me too. But until they have ears and tongues, they are at least going to have prayers.

Better look back, you silent ones. Those sounds you hear are the wings of prayer. Gotcha!” (pp168-169)

McFarland, John Robert.  Now that I Have Cancer I Am Whole. Kansas City: Missouri. McMeel Publishing 2007.

Leave a Reply

