Vermont College of Fine Arts
Vermont College
of Fine Arts

I decided to treat myself and step out of my comfort zone!

I enrolled in a program that will help me fulfill a lifelong dream of being a children’s picture book writer. I was accepted!

For 11 days in January this was my home away from home as I attending a Residency where I rubbed shoulders with famous writers, students, and illustrators.

It was a blessing for me to be able to attend.

I now am doing a rigorous 6 month one line course to better my writing with a famous children’s book author, Mary Quattlebaum as my adviser. She is amazing.  I even was instructed for 2 days by Henry Cole a famous children’s book illustrator who was there as a special guest. It was amazing and he was so fun and personable.

The program is intense! It has been a long time since I have had to meet stringent school deadlines. But I am learning! It feels great after chemo brain to get my mind busy and stretched.

I hope this will inspire you to treat yourself and look into your dreams by stepping out of your comfort zone when you are feeling ready!

You will not be sick forever! 

Become your dream!  Jen

Leave a Reply

