Summer’s treats

One of the secrets of a happy life is continuous small treats.”  Iris Murdoch

Have you treated yourself yet this summer?           

If not, today is your day!

1.  Soft serve ice cream in a cone that would get a tiny bit soggy as I licked has been a treat for me since I lived behind a Foster Freeze when I was a child. For special occasions that was the go to treat. After every Chemo Therapy I decided to give myself a little treat for all my troubles. So I gave myself a vanilla soft serve with the soggy cone….YUM what a treat!

2.. This summer I began to water my flowers in the dusk which is a treat in itself, but  I did it so I could stand watch as fireflies lit their lanterns to start the night sky in that magical way. I am always amazed when I see this. That’s a summer treat.

3.  Today I treated myself and an 87 year old woman to a clam chowder picnic at the beach who hadn’t been there in years. That was such a treat!  We both had a blast!

4.  I still plan this summer to treat myself to a Lake Tahoe sun set, a rock on a balcony swing with a new baby, a night of old fashioned board games with my entire family, another yummy vanilla soft serve ice cream on a cone that is a little bit soggy, a day with my feet in the sand, a novel in my hand under an umbrella,…

AND I LOOK FORWARD TO THE TREATS THAT ARE IN STORE FOR ME IN THE NEXT SEVERAL WEEKS OF SUMMER THAT I DON’T EVEN KNOW ABOUT YET.  THOSE WONDERFUL SURPRISE TREATS THAT MAKE SUMMER SPONTANEOUS AND WONDERFUL!

Go treat yourself!

You deserve it.

 

Leave a Reply

