To Wig or not to wig, that is the question?

Jen’s real hair

I was the person who went to the beauty parlor and they told me ‘Oh darling, you poor thing, the best thing you can do is cut your hair short, there’s nothing you can do with your type of hair.’

I have baby fine hair which I have always fought with. When I found out I had cancer, it had taken me about 8 years to get my fine hair to grow to the middle of my back.  A feat all fine hair people know is not easy!  I had to cut my hair off in small increments to not only get my family used to me losing it, but for me, who hated the whole cancer package.  This was the only time I ever went to a hair cut salon and they asked me “Are you sure you want to cut your hair.  It looks great and so healthy?”  I couldn’t say, “Well no, I am not sure, in fact I don’t want my hair cut at all.  In fact I don’t want to loose one piece of it, but if you have to know, I have cancer, and it is all going!”  Of course I didn’t say that, I politely said…”Yes I am sure, cut it off.”

So this is a mocking of my wig trying on venture!  Wigs looked like Dolly Parton on me. BIG HAIR! FAKE HAIR!  I felt like I was a little girl trying on my mother’s old wigs and hairpieces. Everyone around me saying…”Oh how adorable you look.”  I felt like a total weirdo. Good thing all of those real pictures of me with wigs people liked on me, are on an “old” phone that won’t share.  I was not a happy face.  I tried many different styles in many different wig shops and I could not find one that made ME feel like….ME!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So all of you who are HATING trying on wigs and feel terrible about loosing your hair.  I know how you feel.  I opted to not get one! Well, actually, I got a 1/2 wig.  One that looked like I still had my long hair but had no top.  I HAD to wear a hat.  So I was known as the girl with the “many hats.”  I often didn’t wear it because it was so hot.  But at least when I wanted to feel more like the old me, I would put on my long “thick hair.”

FIND A WIG YOU FEEL GOOD IN OR DON’T GET ONE AT ALL.  There are adorable hats out there that you can accessorize. (Later post) Or be bold and go bald. I wasn’t quite comfortable being a bald “look at me” person…

Leave a Reply

